Citrus Lane September 2013 Review

My September 2013 Citrus Lane subscription box came super early this month. I don’t think I have ever received it before the 15th of the month, but this month I received it on the 12th! As with every box I have received from Citrus Lane, they did a great job this month. My box this month is for an 8 month old baby girl, but there is nothing girly in the box, except for the nail polish which is for mom anyway :)

If you are not familiar with Citrus Lane, they are monthly subscription box service for children from age newborn to 5 years old.  Each month Citrus Lane sends you a box with a variety of quality products for you child, based on their age and gender. Sometimes they include a product for Mom as well. If you pay month to month, the boxes are $25 each, but they are only $21 each if you choose to get a 6 month or longer subscription. If you are interested in trying Citrus Lane, you can use discount coupon code TAKEHALF to get 50% off your first box. You can also use this link to save $10 off your first box. The value of the items in each box are usually way over the $25 price, and it is a great way to learn about, and try new baby and kid products.

Citrus Lane often posts about different ways people re-use their Citrus Lane boxes, and for the September 2013 box they decided to print images on the inside of the box that you can color in. I think this was a cute idea, even though Claire is currently too young to color, I think this is a great use of the box for older kids. I also enjoyed seeing the artistic imagery on the inside of the box, which matches the style of the book included in this month’s box.

Citrus Lane September 2013 Box

Inside of the Box

As I stated before, September was another great month for Citrus Lane. I like when they include a toy and a book in their box, as I know both will get a lot of use. This month they did just that, and I thought the toy this month was especially cute!

Citrus Lane September 2013 1

Citrus Lane September 2013 Box

The stroller toy by Skip Hop looked looks like a great toy, and there was also a nice book, some bath and body wash, diaper cream and a nail polish for me included in this month’s box. I think the nail polish is the nicest mom gift they have included to date.

Citrus Lane September 2013

Citrus Lane Information Card

Here is the information card that was included in this month’s box. The items I got look like they match it exactly, except my stroller toy is a sheep instead of an owl. The owl looks very cute, but the sheep is cute as well, so I am happy with the one we got.

In my review of each product below I have included a price of the product, which is the price that I found it on Amazon. I choose Amazon because they tend to have low prices, and that is where I order a lot of my baby stuff.

I thought this toy was totally adorable. It is basically a bigger sheep holding a small sheep, and the small sheep has a teething ring on it. It includes a clip at the top so it can be attached to the stroller. I love toys that can both be used at home, and on the go, and since Claire is teething, I love the teething aspect of this toy as well.

I am always happy to receive a new board book, we have a lot of them, but some have been chewed up a lot already, and others I just get bored of reading. It is nice whenever we get a new book and have something new to read. I like the artwork in this book, it is high contrast which babies like, and I also like the geometric feel of it.

Citrus Lane September 2013 6

Episencial Playful Wash - $9.89 (for 8oz size, but a 3.4oz size was included in this box, so I will estimate about $5)

I have heard a lot of good things about this company, so I will be happy to give this shampoo and body wash a try. From the description it is ultra gentle, and washes away quickly, which are two of my top criteria for a baby shampoo and body wash.

Citrus Lane September 2013 7

Dr. Smith’s Diaper Rash Ointment – (sample size, I am guessing the value is around $3.50 for the 1oz included)

To be honest I wasn’t that excited to see diaper rash ointment in this month’s box. I have a lot of diaper rash ointment, and Claire rarely gets a diaper rash anyway,, so I don’t see it getting that much use. I can find it useful to some parents, especially new ones that have not found a diaper rash cream they like yet.

This was an exceptionally nice mom gift, and I am excited to try it. I have heard good things about Julep nail color, but I have never tried it myself. The color I got looks to be a dark purplish brown. I will try it on later today and figure out exactly what the color is. I also like that it was packaged in a pretty organza bag.

~~~

So overall I thought this was a great box! The monthly total I got (although I did guess on the prices of two items), was $39.46, which is a lot more than the $25 monthly price. This box had a nice variety of products, and I will continue to subscribe to Citrus Lane for October.

If you would like to try Citrus Lane for yourself, new members can use coupon code TAKEHALF to get 50% off their first box. You can also use this link to save $10 off your first box. Do you already subscribe to Citrus Lane? What did you think of the September 2013 box? How was your box different or similar to mine, and what age was your box for?

You might also be interested in

3 thoughts on “Citrus Lane September 2013 Review

  1. I just received my first citrus lane box today! I have a 9.5 month old boy. We received the same things except for our skip hop stroller toy is an owl and we didn’t get the diaper cream sample. Instead of the diaper cream, we got a packet of powdered baby food. I guess I’m supposed to add water/breastmilk/formula to make it into a purée. We don’t do many purées anymore so I don’t know if I will use this. Looking forward to the October box! I also added a Aden+Anais cozy swaddle to my box. I love it!!

    • It’s always interesting to see how the boxes vary. I think I would have preferred the powdered baby food. Depending on the flavor you might be able to mix it with some other food you make. I bought some powdered peas baby food, and mixed it with water and then used it as a pasta topping. A fruit one could be mixed in with something like oatmeal :)




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>